“Warmth, creativity and passion”

Amy completely redesigned my two-bedroom condo in downtown Seattle, with a focus on modernizing the kitchen, bathrooms and storage space. The result was an elegant and comfortable home that I absolutely love (see Serenity project page).

She was very easy to talk to, and made several thoughtful and creative recommendations to remodel my living space. Amy quickly was able to assess what would help transform my apartment, opening up spaces and using design ideas to create the modern contemporary look that I desired. I also turned to her for decorating advice, and the furnishings and accessories she suggested harmonized perfectly with my existing furniture and enhanced the new living space.

Amy’s professionalism and eye for detail — as well as her warmth, creativity and passion for her job — made our collaboration an enjoyable and fairly easy process. I would highly recommend Amy and would definitely use her interior design services again.

Manaka, June 2015

“Always thoughtful and proactive”

Amy has the fabulous combination of great taste and ability to work within a budget. She’s always thoughtful and proactive, bringing a beautiful vision to each project (see Airy Office Digs) and exceeding expectations. We trust her completely!

N. Coco, March 2014

“A great deal of thought”

We felt at ease knowing Amy was involved in our project, working remotely to help us convert our two-flat building into a single-family home. She thoroughly explained the reasoning behind all of her suggestions, and clearly put a great deal of thought into what would work best in our space.

E. Huffman, October 2013

 

“No ego or pretension”

We’ve worked with Amy three times now largely because of who she is. She’s fun to work with, there’s no ego or pretension, and she never pushes her own agenda.

Of course, her work is amazing, too. In 2009 she helped us select new paint and replace light fixtures as we were moving into our new house. In 2010 she redesigned and managed the complete rip-out of our kitchen and fireplace. And in 2012 she redesigned all of our bathrooms. (See Urban Contemporary project page.)

Remodeling can be stressful, but Amy is a calming influence. She listens patiently, learns about what you want (and what you don’t), and creates practical, beautiful living spaces for real people and their families.

Becky and Ross, April 2013

“Super fun and easy to work with”

When we wanted to remodel our condo, our time — and our budget — was limited. Amy learned about what we wanted to achieve and then recommended the best way to accomplish our goals within those constraints. Her suggestions for every aspect of the project, from floor plan changes to décor details, were excellent.

Amy is organized, responsible and in general super fun and easy to work with. I strongly recommend her work and I’m looking forward to working with her again in the future on bigger projects!

Vita, December 2012

“Keen attention to detail”

Amy is a gem! She helped us immensely, both in developing an interior design concept for our new 6,000 sq. ft. home and then executing it efficiently, on time and on budget.

Amy designed our custom-made cabinetry and shelving and also sourced stone counter tops, wood, tile, carpet, lighting, hardware and more. In each instance, she focused first on our requirements, listened carefully to our comments and then responded with a few well-chosen options. Invariably we were very satisfied with her initial selections.

As a result of Amy’s design instincts, all of these elements were integrated to produce stunning rooms (see Organic Modern project page). She has a delightful manner along with her keen attention to detail and professional demeanor. Amy made the complex process of building a home much more enjoyable than we ever imagined — and we love the results!

Anne and Bryce, June 2011

“The perfect partner”

Amy May is an exceptionally talented design professional, and we have her to thank for our stunning new family home!

She first served as our design coordinator, assisting in the selection of all finishes for our custom home (see Refined Classic Elegance project page). Amy took every idea we had and made it into reality, always considering a multitude of factors, including our lifestyle and budget. Never afraid to give an opinion, but always respectful and professional, we found that working with her was a lot of fun.

In addition to her amazing eye, Amy also understands every aspect of construction, which makes her truly unique. As our home neared completion, she was the perfect partner to help select our furnishings, window treatments and accessories.

Georgy Ann, March 2011

 

“I love coming home now”

I would highly recommend May Designs to anyone, because Amy May is fantastic! She gave me a number of great suggestions during my initial consultation and followed up with a design board for a new living and dining space. Her suggestions inspired me to take a few risks with purchases I never would have considered making previously, and I am so pleased with the result!

 

I feel like I have a brand-new condo! I love coming home now to a tranquil, yet fun and welcoming environment.

D. Thayer, September 2014

“She gets things done”

Amy is very professional and great with creative ideas, which we needed for the home bar she designed for us (see Organic Industrial Refinement project page). She gets things done on time and is very easy to work with. We would recommend her for any design or interior decorating projects!

R. Lorenze, July 2014